Welcome to Usborne!

The first Saturday morning in June, 2012 was warm and pleasant. Jason, my husband of 8 years, had taken our seven year old son to a chess tournament. Our five year old tagged along, thus leaving me home with the two girls, two and and a half years and 10 months.

It was the first farmers market and I was hoping to buy some organic “local” produce. I didn’t find what I went for, maybe next time! I passed several vendors selling items from fresh cooked food to home sewn goods to Tupperware and Pampered Chef. I saw quite a few vendors selling items for dogs. I even signed up for the city’s email and entered a drawing for a rain barrel.

One vendor I passed by was selling books. Now earlier that week I had decided my days of buying children’s board books in the Target dollar bin were over. I had found too many run on sentences and fragments in their pages. The quality of the books had also been on my mind since many had ended up in the recycling. The durability was an issue to say the least.

I saw some “That’s not my…” books in the display. We had a That’s Not My Bunny in near mint condition at home. It had been a gift several years ago. I decided to go over and look. When I started looking at the other books, I realized many of them I had seen referenced in homeschooling or used for homeschooling. I had no idea one company published both. As I talked with Nicole about the books, I realized Usborne uses independent consultants for book fairs, conventions, selling to libraries, and yes, even home shows!

Nicole gave me her information and told me how I could sign up. I told her I would think about it. I walked a few yards to call Jason. He encouraged me to go ahead and do it! I walked back over and told Nicole! She gave me $30 worth of free books and I invited her to come back to my house so we could continue chatting and so she could help me sign up if I had any trouble. I was signed by the time she arrived.

One response to “Welcome to Usborne!

  1. Nicole Babcock

    April, you are going to rock your new Usborne Books & More business!! So happy to have you on my team!!

Let me know what you think

